How much is a Saltwater Fishing License in Texas



We’re an affiliate. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases through the links on this page. Learn more by reading our disclaimer.

How much is a saltwater fishing license in Texas? A saltwater fishing license in Texas costs between $30-47 if you are a resident of Texas or $63 if you are a non-resident. The basic one-day license is $11 for a resident and $16 for a non-resident if you are only going to be in Texas for a short time. The best all-around way to purchase a fishing license in Texas is to get the one year from purchase date all-water license for $47 because it is good for an entire year from the date you bought it.

Texas is one of the premier places in the country to fish due to its large amount of prime fishing real estate. This is true of freshwater fishing in some of the best lakes in the country for largemouth bass and crappie or saltwater fishing with the huge amount of coast that Texas has. So, no matter if you are fishing for bass with a spinnerbait or trying to land a giant catfish on a trotline, you will not be disappointed when fishing in Texas.

How much is a Saltwater Fishing License in Texas

How much is a Saltwater Fishing License in Texas

Do I need a fishing license in Texas?

Yes, the state of Texas does require a fishing license to fish in any public body of water. This includes lakes, rivers, streams, and of course the Gulf of Mexico. It is important to obtain the proper license before stepping out onto the bank to cast your first line.

Who needs To Have a fishing license in Texas?

Anyone who is 17 years and older needs a license to fish in Texas. This applies to people who live in Texas and those who are visiting who wish to fish, whether you’re bank fishing or on a deep-sea fishing charter. If you are doing anything that is related to fishing such as scooping a fish up with a net, putting new bait on a hook, or holding a rod for someone else will need a license.

Also Read:  How to Fish for Catfish: An Easy Guide For Beginners

Related: Best Crappie Fishing in Texas

Exceptions to Texas License Requirements

In Texas, you can fish without a license under the following situations:

  • You can fish without a license from the banks in a State Park.
  • Texas’s Free Fishing Day (usually the first Saturday in June every year).
  • Anyone younger than 17 years old, can fish without getting a license in Texas.
  • Residents that were born before January 1st 1931 are free to fish without a license in Texas.

Texas residents with mental disabilities have exceptions to the fishing license law. They don’t need a fishing license if they are supervised by somebody who does, or as part of their therapy program.

Types of Fishing Licenses with Costs:

Saltwater Fishing Endorsement$10.00
Freshwater Fishing Endorsement$5.00
One Day Fishing LicensesCost
Resident One Day All Water Fishing$11.00
Non-Resident One Day All Water Fishing$16.00
Resident Freshwater Fishing$30.00
Resident Saltwater Fishing$35.00
Resident All Water Fishing$40.00
Resident Year-From-Purchase All Water$47.00
Senior Resident Freshwater Fishing$12.00
Senior Resident Saltwater Fishing$17.00
Senior Resident All Water Fishing$22.00
Special Resident All Water Fishing (Disability)$7.00
Non-resident Freshwater Fishing$58.00
Non-resident Saltwater Fishing$63.00
Non-resident All Water Fishing$68.00

What do I need to get a fishing license in Texas?

You need either a valid driver’s license or a state ID card in order to get your fishing license. If you do not have a state ID or license you can also use your Social Security Card and proof of residency to purchase your fishing license. All documents must show your name and your physical Texas address.

Also Read:  How to Tie a Crappie Rig : An Easy Guide For Beginners

Anytime you are out fishing you are should carry your valid fishing license so that you can produce if asked by an officer or game warden. You do not need to carry the documents or proof of residency that you used to get your fishing license.

How much is a Saltwater Fishing License in Texas

Do senior citizens need a fishing license in Texas?

Yes, residents who are 65 years and older do need a fishing license in Texas.

Who is exempt from fishing license in Texas?

Residents and non-residents under the age of 17 are exempt from having to purchase a fishing license. Texas also exempts residents born before Jan. 1, 1931, from having to have a valid fishing license in order to fish.

How much is a one day saltwater fishing license in Texas?

You can get a one-day saltwater fishing license in Texas for just $11 which covers you actually fishing but if you plan on keeping any of the fish that you might catch then you will need the proper endorsement and/or tags.

How much is a fishing license in Texas for a year?

So, how much does a fishing license actually cost? Texas fishing licenses are relatively cheap in comparison to other states. On average they cost $30-$40 and this is a great way for people who enjoy spending their time on the water to be able to use lakes, rivers, or streams without having any worries about getting fined by game wardens.

How much is a fishing license at Walmart in Texas?

A fishing license at Wal-Mart will cost $11 for a single-day license. You can also get a fishing license for a non-resident for $40 that is good until August of the current year. It will cost you $47 if you want a license good for an entire year from the date you purchased it.

Also Read:  What is Saltwater Fishing? Everything You Want To Know!

How much is the fine for fishing without a license in Texas?

In Texas, getting caught fishing without a license can be a criminal fine of as much as $500. Then of course there is civil restitution for any fish or game taken while fishing without a license. That can add up to hundreds or even thousands of dollars of fines.

Where can I purchase a Texas fishing license?

You can purchase your saltwater fishing license online here Texas Parks & Wildlife Online License Sales or you can purchase fishing licenses or packages at your local outdoor stores such as Academy, Bass Pro Shops, or even at your local Wal-Mart

In Conclusion

Fishing is a great way to spend time with your family, get some fresh air and exercise, or just have some fun. But if you’re going fishing in the state of Texas without a valid license, it could cost you big bucks! It might be wise to stop by the nearest sporting goods store before heading out on your next adventure.

Latest posts